Our Board

ANCA is run by the tenants through a well-structured board, a range of specialised committees and a paid administration.

The ANCA Board controls and manages the business affairs of ANCA. The Board is made up of:

  • 2 x tenants from the Mitchell campus – elected by the tenants from that campus
  • 2 x tenants from the Dickson campus – elected by the tenants from that campus
  • 3 x non-tenant members as appointed by the ACT Chief Minister
  • 1 x former ANCA tenant (elected by the board)
  • 1 x non-tenant member with necessary professional expertise (elected by the board)

Tenant members are nominated and voted in at the Annual General Meeting.

The officers of the Board include: Chair, Deputy Chair, Secretary and Treasurer. The members taking these roles are elected by the members of the Board at the first board meeting following the AGM.

Sean Davey

Chair Role (pdf)

Sean Davey is an independent photographer and artist. Sean’s photography is centred around a strong interest in documentary and observational practice. With a background in photojournalism and newspaper photography, Sean is an intent observer of daily life, and his work often incorporates a factual documentary approach with personal expression. Sean has self-published portfolios and books of his photographs and has been exhibited in many of Australia’s top galleries and artistic institutions. Sean’s photographs are held in the collection of the Museum of Australian Democracy, the National Library of Australia and the State Library of NSW. In 2011 Sean founded The Photography Room, a gallery dedicated to the promotion and exhibition of contemporary photography. Sean is regularly commissioned by media and art organisations, corporate clients, non-for-profits and government departments, as well as being a photographic teacher and mentor.

Peter Jordan

Treasurer Role (pdf)

Peter Jordan trained as Bookkeeper in 1989 in Sydney after completing a Fine Arts course at Meadowbank TAFE in 1985. In 1991 he enrolled in Diploma of Accounting, completed two years before leaving to do a Bachelor Fine Arts (Honours) between 1993 -1996, Institute of the Arts, Australian National University. Peter worked at ANCA in 2007 and between 2009 – 2011 in a bookkeeping role helping the administrator as well as working at the ANU School of Art.  He has been involved with various not for profit organisations as a bookkeeper since the early 2000’s and is currently registered with the Tax Practitioners Board as a registered BAS agent.  Peter carries out his own professional art practice, exhibiting yearly, mainly paintings, and wondering why humans do the things they do.
We must do away with the absolutely specious notion that everybody has to earn a living. – Buckminster Fuller


Julie Bradley

Secretary Role (pdf)

Julie Bradley works as a professional artist at ANCA studios.  Originally training as a printmaker at the Australian National University (ANU), Julie alsoreceived a graduate diploma in professional art studies from the University of New South Wales.  Julie was a founding member of the Studio One print workshop in Canberra.  For over 35 years Julie has been a visual arts educator and has lectured in across design, illustration, life drawing and printmaking at both the ANU and the University of Canberra (UC).  Her experience in facilitation, teaching and mentoring has lead Julie to run her own private mentoring business/consultancy and lead master classes around Canberra and throughout the region.  Julie’s work has been selected for numerous art prizes including Jacaranda Acquisitive Drawing Award, Sunshine Coast Art Award and Rick Amor drawing prize, most recently winning the 2017 Inner North Art prize. Julie’s work is held in the collections at National Gallery of Australia, ANU, Canberra Museum and Gallery, UC Collection, Bundanon Trust, Calvary Hospital Birth Centre, Canberra Hospital and the Lu Rees Archive.

Jo Wu

Deputy Chair Role (pdf)

Jo Wu currently holds a studio at ANCA.

Sara Freeman

ANCA Alumni Role (pdf)

Sara Freeman grew up in Melbourne, originally studying music at the VCA, then left the viola behind and traveled through most of her twenties, spending time living and painting in Europe, Japan and India before moving to the NSW Far South Coast in 1995. In 2006 she completed a BA with Honors in Print Media and Drawing at the ANU School of Art. Sara is represented by Anita Traverso Gallery in Melbourne and works part time as a paper conservator at the National Library. An ANCA tenant from 2006 – 2012, she now paints from a studio at home.

Susan Taylor

General Member Role (pdf)

Susan graduated from ANU with a Bachelor of Arts/Law in 1993. After ten years working as a Commonwealth government lawyer, in 2004 she opened her womenswear boutique Department of the Exterior in Manuka to bring the best of Australian and New Zealand independent fashion design to Canberra. With her husband, she collects non-objective art and contemporary jewellery, and established an in-house gallery, Spare Room 33, in 2013 as a venue for periodic exhibitions of works from their collection.

Bill McCarthy

Ministerial Appointee Role (pdf)

Bill has extensive experience in administrative law and has practiced in the ACT in both the public and private sectors. An Associate Member of ANCA since 2008, Bill has a keen interest in the arts both as a collector and patron and in advisory roles such as those held at ANCA and previously at Studio One, Megalo Print Studio and Muse. In his current capacity at ANCA, Bill draws on his experience as a practicing lawyer, providing sound advice on ANCA’s legal rights and obligations.

Neil Hobbs

Ministerial Appointee Role (pdf)

Neil is a FAILA registered Landscape Architect and founding partner at Harris Hobbs Landscapes. An alumni of the University of Canberra, Neil specialises in commercial and government sector projects ranging from preliminary design through to documentation and construction. Neil has participated in a number of allied organisations, including membership to the Governing Council of the Gallery of Australian Design. He is twice the Past National President of the Australian Institute of Landscape Architects, and has served as a member of the AILA National Council for nearly a decade.

Geordie Ferguson

General Member Role (pdf)

Geordie Ferguson currently holds a studio at ANCA.